GW"/>

Gardenwife’s Plot

Jump to content.

E-mail me:



Sponsors

Make someone's day

Flower.com Shutterfly.com

Armchair shopping at Amazon...Ahhh

Cricut without cartridges? Yes!


Software opens you to all kinds of creative possibilities...Cut anything you want with your Cricut machine!

Categories

The Archives

Google comment spam?

Comment and trackback spam sucks. I have the MT Blacklist plug-in installed and I also force moderation on comments older than 7 days or containing two or more URL’s. Those two things cut way back on the amount of comment spam I get (that which I even see and you never see, that is). The moderation of flagged comments can be a pain sometimes, though; for some reason, it is flagging some for moderation rather than blocking them like I want. Anyway, here’s a good one for those of you plagued by comment spam.


Just now, I was reviewing a list of new comments set aside for moderation. They were all on older entries and they all came from the same IP address: 205.236.34.1. The weirdest thing, though, was they were all advertising Google. That’s a first for me.

i come from best search engine http://www.google.com

The IP address is for francite.com and the spammer’s e-mail addy is google(at)yahoo.nl — how strange is that? I don’t want to link to either and give a comment spammer, even one apparently for Google, any blog press.

I agree Google’s the best, but c’mon! Hey, now…I just realized something as I was going through the MT Blacklist process. If I choose to report these to the MT Blacklist clearinghouse, it defaults to block the URL fragment google.com — that just won’t do.

Anyone else had these comments? Is this a case of a spammer wanting Google to be blacklisted?

3 comments

  1. Mandi posted on 07/14/2005:

    Wow that is an odd one. I do agree though that they’re maybe looking to have google.com banned in some way. I Googled the phrase “i come from best search engine” and it looks like this guy has gotten himself sucessfully posted on at least 205 blogs. Yahoo.com reports only 95. It would be interesting to follow this.

    *hugs*

  2. brenda posted on 07/16/2005:

    It looks like someone trying to give Google a black eye or to use the Google name to try to fool people into clicking on them. I would try copting the spam into an email and sending it to Google. They do not take kindly to their site being used like that and they may go after that ip address.

  3. Kimberley posted on 07/16/2005:

    I agree. I think I’ll copy the comment spam text and IP addy and send it to Google’s abuse address. Even if it isn’t an e-mail spam, they’ll know the appropriate place to forward it.

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment

You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>



Read more

« CE Photography
DG is on the air! »